Tuna off WCVI - who's done it

TenMile

I've spent way too much time today daydreaming about fishing and reading the forum. There are some excellent posts on Tuna fishing on the board. I'm interested in who has done it.

I am somewhat new to boating out here in the west and have only been as far as Renfrew in my own boat. As I understand it, to find Tuna, you have to hit the 60 degree water which can be 10-30 miles off shore (or more) in the summer. A tuna hunting trip is a dream-trip of mine, but I have no idea what to expect from the waters out that far. Of course, we are always subject to a good blow-up out there but would like to hear from guys that might have taken their own sporty boats out for Tuna in the summer.

What are the conditions like out that far in our waters. Is a 19' Striper enough boat or is that a trip better suited to a bigger boat?

I haven't fished tuna here in BC but in California. It is a lot of fun if you know how but it also requires traveling long distance once you are out on the grounds. A 19' boat will look awefully small out there but I am not saying that on a calm day it could not be done in it. But you will need extra tanks because you will troll for hours out there at a speed higher than yur kicker will normally provide. So you need to figure out how much gas you need to go let's say 50 km out, go 5 hours at 20 km/h speed, and then 50 km back home. I probably wouldn't even do it unless I had two main engines... Then a flying bridge to look from a better angle onto the water would be prefered to locate hot spots. Then you need proper gear... It's a whole different thing. But fun, I admit. Would like to know if any local charters offer tuna trips.