Purchasing new boat

R

rainbow one

I have been looking at new boats for a while now. The styles have included Silver Streak, Lifetimer, and North Shore. Does anyone have opinions on these? Is there any others I should consider? Looking for a cabin style in the 24'length. Also, Yamaha seems to have the market on the outboards. Are they that good or do they just have good marketing? All opinions appreciated.

RO

Dont know much on the boats but lots of good info will come im sure. Yamaha's a great engine its not just the marketing. In most peoples opinion best brand out there and is what most are running.

If you're looking for a welded Aluminum check out Wolf Boats up here between Courtenay and Campbell River
http://www.wolfboats.com/
By far the best boats on the market.
Beamy and very well constructed.
I've been researching Welded for about four years and there's too many that just won't either do the job or have suspect designs.
I've even seen some that the sides have stove piped (multiple ripples) sides after only one year in the water.
Wolf can custom make a 24 with a cuddy and Alaska bulkhead, powered and with a trailer for about 70k (this has all the bells and whistles)
Do your research very carefully and ask some of the owners after they've had them for a couple years.
Another one that I feel is worth checking out is Lifetimer in Duncan.

Better not forget about "Eagle Craft" paul, dont want kevvy mad at us LOL,very good boat as well but out of my price range.

Wolf

Can't beat silver streak in my opinion (obviously I own one). Best hull design and quality construction. And check out the honda motors. I've known yamaha's to have some problems but that just may be because there is more of them out there. My two cents.

Also try Cope Boats. I believe they are out of Parksville. Don't have personal experience in the larger sizes, but in the smaller, people swear by them. Smaller shop, so not too many around.