mounting fire extinguishers horizontal instead of vertical

jeffywestcoast

I was told from a friend it is a bad idea to mount your fire extinguisher vertical instead of horizontal because the powder inside can overtime settle out rendering it useless, just wondering if anyone has herd of this problem as i see alot of people mounting them vertical in boats and am just wondering which way is best as i am no expert. I just replaced mine as it was expired and i mounted the new one horizontal to the side of the back seat box tight against the floor where it is easily axcessible.

That is a good question. Profisher is the expert on this. I just look at every one we have in our shop and service trucks and they are all mounted vertically.

My friend and good fishing buddy stated that over time the dry chemical can settle out while the boat is sitting and when you go to use it what you are left with is a dud. Dunno as i have never had a boat before untill this year, i know all our water and vacuum trucks in the oilfield have them mounted on the horizontal but it could just be a space issue.

Last edited by a moderator:
I found this little blurb on a safe boating website "Some basic safety rules on your boat: check your fire extinguishers often for correct operating pressure and make sure that you and your guests know how to use them. Have a qualified person service the extinguishers and recharge them as per the manufacturer’s instructions. Take dry chemical devices out of their bracket and give them a few hard shakes in the upside down position (about once a month).