Downrigger braid

scott craven

For those using braid on your riggers, how often do you change it ?
I've been running mine for over 3 years now.
I occasionally re-tie the knots, other than that it's still going strong.

I cut about 20 feet off a year then with any mishaps and if the lines length begins to concerns me I ad another spool. I have never replaced my braid. I do a double uni knot and ad another 400ft.

I turn my lines around on the spools every 2 years. Pull one line into a large pail. Then pull the other spool onto the mt spool. The tricky part is getting the line in the bucket reversed onto the last mt spool. There is two ways of doing it. 1. Carefully flip the pile upside down on the floor and spool it up from the other end or. 2. Take the pail of line and run the line out down a road where there is no traffic and then spool it up from the other end onto the rigger or pull it into the bucket and then spool it onto the rigger. It's like having brand new lines. I do this with my salmon reels too. Saves me hundreds of dollars.

Of course you can only turn the lines around once but between re tying knots and cutting off the end 20 feet once and a while turning the lines around it makes the lines go the extra EXTRA mile.

Last edited by a moderator:
I turn my lines around on the spools every 2 years.
A good idea and much easier if you have a park nearby-just tie one end to a tree/post/picnic table run it out to the end, return to the tree, tie that end on, spool it up and you're good to go.

Be Careful if there's a dog around though dogs love to tangle themselves in things especially mono.

I should add that pilling line into a large pail ( garbage pail) is a bit risky. I have not had a problem but some basic precautions MUST be followed.
1. Do not disturb the pile.
2. Do not allow vertical loops to form. Do this by patting the stack flat as you go Or just lay the line in flat.