Buying a new vehicle the easy way

sly_karma

Crew Member
Discussion in the Boat Is Paid Off thread touched on buying cars and trucks, I'll put in my two cents here without derailing the boatnthread further.

I'm a home builder so I'm used to the tendering and bidding process: put together a set of specs, a closing date and send it off to qualified bidders. This approach works well with major consumer purchases too.

First you decide what vehicle you want, through a combination of reading, test drives, experience with rental vehicles or friends' vehicles.

Second, develop a precise set of specs. Go to the maker's website and use their Build Your Truck page (or whatever they happen to call it) to "build" the exact vehicle you want. Most makers have a dizzying array of options and often they're bundled up in packages to make it more confusing. Take your time here, you definitely don't want to do this in person at the dealership. Most build pages update the total cost every time you add or remove an option; use this feature to determine whether it's better to add, say, heated seats as a standalone item or add a bundle that includes ten other items of varying importance to you. Eventually you'll settle on the truck/car and options you want and you'll have a clear overall MSRP cost. Save the build sheet as a PDF file; this is your set of specs to send out to tender.

Step 3. Look on the website to see if you qualify for any rebates or discounts such as seniors, veterans, electric vehicle, gas guzzler trade in, etc.

Step 4. While still on the website, look up dealers near you. Hopefully there are at least three within a driving radius that is acceptable to you for initial service and possible followup or warranty work. Grab the email addresses of all the dealerships within this 'comfort zone'. Write an email something like this: