Plug w/ or w/out flasher?

N

nucklesc

I have been chasing salmon in the salt now for 4-5 years. I have not fished plugs much and would like some input from plug-guys. Have you had better success with or without a flasher? I often run 2 poles per downrigger and would like to start running the top two rods with plugs. Thoughts........

Check the search function.. Lots of stuff there about how far from the clip and doctoring plugs to fish slower so you can use them at the same time as flasher with other gear. Most people I know don't use plugs behind flashers. The Tomic website also has lots of tips.

quote:Originally posted by nucklesc

I have been chasing salmon in the salt now for 4-5 years. I have not fished plugs much and would like some input from plug-guys. Have you had better success with or without a flasher? I often run 2 poles per downrigger and would like to start running the top two rods with plugs. Thoughts........

I generally run them without a flasher, and put them a long way back from the downrigger - as much as 100'. Plugs will dart back and forth and cover a lot of territory this way.

If you feel the need to run a flasher, tie it direct to the downrigger cable/ball and put it about 3 to 6' behind the cable. Then run the plug about 5' above the false flasher. and about 20' to 30' behind the cable.

I sometimes run a plug on the surface without any weight. I put it back about 50' or so behind the boat so that it pops in and out of the water in the wake of the boat - great for Coho.

A few years back, we had the boat just about plugged full of Coho and were trying to get a couple more Chinook. Looking through the tacklebox, I found a 7" Tomic that was old when I was a teenager. My dad had it in his box - I'd never seen it used, never mind fished it myself. I put it on and dragged it behind the boat on the downrigger.