Winterize inboard?

ichenjia

I know this topic may have come up a few times in the last. Just curious what do you do to winterize an inboard or do you do it at all?

I also notice the cuddy is getting a lot of moisture probably from the rain (the boat is outside), what do you do with that?

Sorry, I am a newb.

Thanks a lot!

What motor? My dads 4.3L merc has blue knobs on everything that needs to be turned to drain the water from the engine. You can also run antifreeze for a bit to replace the water with antifreeze.

Lower the leg to drain the water out

Fog the cylinders

Stabilizer in your fuel.

Antifreeze ran through your washdown pump if you have one.

Batteries on a trickle charger.

Dehumidifier pellets in the cuddy. I use a bucket style in my camper called Damprid that you can get at Walmart. It's better than replacing pellets every 6 weeks or so.

Find your leak in your cuddy. You probably have one if you got lots of moisture.

Do an oil change in the spring time. Run it for a bit to get the fogging oil out of the cylinders and replace the spark plugs. New impeller in spring time if you haven't done it in a while.

buy a pod, remove inboard from boat and install an outboard. run the outboard on muffs at idle with the fuel line pulled out until it stops running. drop the outboard to the lowest possible position to let it drain completely. then cover with tarp. done.

I know this topic may have come up a few times in the last. Just curious what do you do to winterize an inboard or do you do it at all?

I also notice the cuddy is getting a lot of moisture probably from the rain (the boat is outside), what do you do with that?

Sorry, I am a newb.

Thanks a lot!

Drain manifold, and crack open the front cover of the fresh water cooling system/drain water side. If you want to you can put a heater in in motor bay but it usually isn't needed unless your in very cold area. that is basically it.

If it going sit for some time just do leg oil before put it away.