What kind of water do I look for when Prawning?

Topcheese

Hey everyone,

I'm new to prawning, and I was just looking for a few tips on where to set my traps? What kind of water do I look for? In an Inlet? close to shore? depth? Place with lots of current? Place with freshwater influence (like Dungeness)? Thanks for all your help everybody!

Inlets are good. Ledges are good. Strong currents are bad. Spotted prawns in 250-375 feet. Try around 200 feet for striped. Anchovies or anchovey scent is good.

I go for rocky uneven bottoms, personally. Seems to work fine. It it can be hard on the traps though. I use the commercial bait and I save all my fish carcasses and use those too. 200'+ depth. Use sinking line or be sure to tie a piece of metal to the line so boats don't run over the line at low tide. I'm talking about the line right below the float of course.

Seadrift at Terminal Park. Top of the hill in Nanaimo.

the kind of water that commies have not cleaned out...

the kind of water that commies have not cleaned out...

Exactly, some of these guys when they hit good spots they fish them real hard and clean everything out completely, it is absolutely insane.