West Coast vs East Coast Vancouver Island Springer Fishing

knucklebustah

I've been fishing up on Vancouver Island for the last 20 years (man, I don't feel that old yet....), but just the West Side. Kyoquot and more recently Bamfield once they changed the regs for the inside up in Kyoquot.

My question is - how does the fishing at a place like Port McNeill compared to the West Coast? I've been thinking about varying it up a bit. I've been looking around on the forum for the last hour, and I've had some luck on info between the two, but nothing big. Please excuse my ignorance if I missed some big post that already covers this.

Thanks!

T wo totally different experiences in my opinion. I usually do both every year except this last yr I only went to Bamfield. I love Alder Bay it is fishable in any wind there is usually a place to hide. Ive never been to Bamfield when the fishing is red hot on the inside but would like to experience that one day. Same as Alder Bay though. I have picked up nice salmon in both locations. Offshore Bamfield has definately seen more good days then bad. The scenery is great in both places also. The last few years I have done better overall size and numbers locally for salmon than the trips i made to Bamfield but that again could be just timing. We limited on Springs last yr at Bamfield offshore but the biggest was only around 20 lbs. Good Luck with what ever you do, its always nice to check out new areas. Atleast this yr you have the Dollar going good for you. Make your trip a little cheaper.