Strait of Georgia wave height/crossings

jcon12

Hi all,

I've been fishing locally and crossing the SOG for the past two decades. I spend most of my time on the Vancouver side however find myself running back and forth to the Nanaimo area more often.

I try and run my 17 Arima when the weather allows otherwise go out in our Grady Gulfstream.

I am wondering what your "stay home" conditions are.

Generally I only cross in the Arima if wave height is under .6m and the wind has been under 15knots with nothing worse forecasted.

In our larger boat I might run across in the .7-.8 range in under 20 knots (assuming its a NW or SE wind).

How do you guys gauge the weather and crossing conditions?

thanks!

26' hourston and I run east / west up the straits. Typically I'm more concerned about duration of the waves but if it's gusting past 15 knots consistently then that's about a 1m sea and I pass. Boat will do it but I'm on one main and its nasty.

I just use common sense , if Mother Nature says "Dont Do It" , I listen ! After 35 ish years fishing on the Strait ..... I have learnt one thing, if you go back there is always tomorrow , if you risk it ...... maybe not ! (and for some reason as I get older the Gunnels seem harder when I fall against them and the pain lasts longer hahah)

for me i always check the weather and tide prior to going out. if they are running in the same direction it usually lays down but if they are running against each other especially in the 15 knot region i just catch up on yard work cause it’s gonna be ugly
Yup, I'll take big waves and huge wind as long as they're both coming from behind.

I used to use pretty similar numbers to your "bigger boat" numbers in my double eagle.

I have gone in 27 knots with upper 30s gusts, day three of that storm. Nothing happened but once was enough.