Picked up a Mid- 80's Mariner 30hp for my tinny...now what.

Damien

So I found what looks to be a decent little 30hp tiller (Mariner aka Yamaha?) to hang on my 1960's Thornes 14.5' aluminum. I picked up off of Craigslist based on what seemed to me an honest seller.

I fired it up and went for a little rip in the river, all seems fine. But...to be safe, I would like to have it gone over.

I have no time and little knowledge to work on the motor and think getting a once over done by a reputable mechanic to attend to any deferred maintanence is a good idea. Things that I should have done to a motor that was stored for a few years. Thinking compression test, make sure the impeller is good,change all the fluids & plugs? Degunk the carb, seafoam?

I don't want to spend too much on a motor this old, but I don't want it to go caput because some simple maintanence items weren't in check. It seems to be a good fit and well balanced on my little old tinny and I could get years of 8-10 trips per season out of it.

From what I have been told, I got a sweet deal on a motor that is relatively bomb proof . But I don't want to prove that theory and be faced with trying to navigate the mine field of craigslist used motors or spend $3K plus on a new 15-20hp.

Thoughts on where I could bring it (I'm in Langley, BC) and what this should cost approximately? What I should do, or not bother do to it? Do I bring it in on the boat, or just bring the motor itself?

I appreciate the suggestions.

Last edited:
A once over is always a good preventative measure. Set some parameters though (like a max amount to spend) because you don't want to spend a ton of money unnecessarily. Get some quotes first before giving the green light.