My 2 Cents

samba123

I recently posted a question around salmon stamps and got some helpful replies. Thanks to those of you who are more familiar with the regulations and system in place. I was not aware the fees goes towards salmon conservation initiatives so I will gladly pay the fees for myself and my young kids.

It was a simple question and most of the responses were sincere, helpful but more importantly respectful. There were one or 2 comments posted which were not necessary in my opinion. One post was that if I didn't want to pay the $6 per person conservation stamps then perhaps saltwater fishing is not for me. To the person who make that reply, I would like to say don't insult my intelligence by stating the obvious that fishing is an expensive endeavor. As I stated at the beginning of the post, I am new to saltwater fishing and don't understand all of the nuances and details which someone who has been doing it for a long time is well versed in. Whether it be $6, $100 or $1000, if something doesn't benefit or isn't useful to me, why would I spend the money on it? Doesn't mean I can't afford to but it's my own choice.

Anyhow, thank you to the rest of the people who replied and gave me some clarity and insight into my original question.

I recently posted a question around salmon stamps and got some helpful replies. Thanks to those of you who are more familiar with the regulations and system in place. I was not aware the fees goes towards salmon conservation initiatives so I will gladly pay the fees for myself and my young kids.