Huge Ling Cod

Awesome fish ! you should come a little farther north to Winter Harbour... you will see that size and larger every day on the dock.... its silly for ling and hali

It's a shame really to kill very large lings. I'm not an expert by any means but a commercial fisherman told me they are like Halibut; all the really big ones are female and it takes years for them to get that large. I killed one a few years ago (also 38 lbs) and I wish I hadn't. It didn't really eat that well either (compared to a 15 - 20 lb ling). We now have a maximum size limit for Halibut and I believe that's a good thing; perhaps we should start thinking about one for lings too; they are much easier to release. Just my humble opinion.

Quite the bucket mouth on that old hog lol..

This one had a gaff hole in it before I saw how big it was. My general practice is to release all big fish, salmon included. Posted the photo to show people, not to be judged on how or where I fish. Also to the other post about the Albertan freezer. I was born and raised in B.C. and still live here. I do fish with friends out of Alberta. With that said and as a sponsor of the SFBC derby. From now on, I will keep both my photos and money to myself.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hey part timer its the internet... everyone on here will gladly tell you that youre doing it wrong and their way is so much better than yours. especially about fishing

This one had a gaff hole in it before I saw how big it was. My general practice is to release all big fish, salmon included. Posted the photo to show people, not to be judged on how or where I fish. Also to the other post about the Albertan freezer. I was born and raised in B.C. and still live here. I do fish with friends out of Alberta. With that said and as a sponsor of the SFBC derby. From now on, I will keep both my photos and money to myself.