how are VI rivers doing in your experience/opinion??

jbv

i've lived on the Island for 7 yrs. i've met a lot of interesting folks in my line of work, and have paid close attention to environmental issues and natural resources for many years. i have heard that (from a Forest Stewardship Council auditor and a number of professional foresters) that the standards here on the Island are very high for logging in terms of conservation and the like. it doesn't often look that way to me, but i'm just a layman. and apparently we have come a long way from in the past, but i don't really know. it's what i read and what i'm told. private land maybe less so than public.

i was asking a fly fishing guru recently about his fishing experiences and he had just come back from the west coast on a few rivers. said the logging is brutal and destroying rivers like never before. cutting right to the river edge no buffer. a number of steelhead runs silting over from upland deforestation. the Sarita was one river mentioned, can't remember the others.

anyways it was a sad conversation, he was pretty upset about it. i don't like to take sides without full information and i'm not anti business or forestry. i am anti destroying rivers and ideal wildlife habitat that's for dam sure though. frustrating cause i don't know the full story or if it's all exaggeration...

what's your take? seeing a lot of destructive practices out there ruining rivers that take decades or longer to recover? we sure have wrecked a lot of good water on the east side in many places. lots of time and money to sort of restore some of it. rivers take thousands of years to evolve, a few years to ruin if we're reckless...

seeing the same things, logging right to the edge of rivers and flash floods due to not enough trees to trap the water and hold the water.

It's bad out there man, loggers are going full retard cutting everything in site.