Hook set

opto55

I am new to fishing downriggers, last weekend had 4 hits and landed 2 fish. We were fishing at 35 ft. Should you set the hook when you get a hit?:)

yes, sometimes the fish may not pull it off the downrigger right away, and even if it does, i still give it an insurance set:D

2 for 4 isn't really that bad.

some days you might go 4 for 4, others (heaven forbid) 0 for 4.

it kinda depends on whether the fish is off the clip or not, but, yeah, i like to the insurance set too. ;)

I find I hook and keep more on by reeling hard to pick up the slack and keep reeling until the fish is well on with good pressure. With sharp hooks that's all you need.

I'd rather nail it as soon as I feel the full pressure of the fish. I hate it when I say I should of set the hook, when it shakes off halfway through the fight.:( eman

quote:Originally posted by salmon9

I find I hook and keep more on by reeling hard to pick up the slack and keep reeling until the fish is well on with good pressure. With sharp hooks that's all you need.

That's all you need, this, with the help of a tight tension set on the release clip. If you find you have to "set the hook" by pumping the rod, you don't have sharp hooks.

I find the bronze eagle claw hooks are plenty sharp straight out of the package.Set the line deep in the downrigger clip and when you get one on,reel up until your rod tip is pointing down 3/4 of the way to the water.One quick jerk and you're off the downrigger and set the hook in one stroke.
Lost too many by giving it the big heave ho when they strike.Like they say-"tight lines"
But this is what works for me

I set my lines about 1/3 of the way into the clips. I find the light set on the clips means that you are less likely to be trolling a shaker or bottomfish inadvertantly.