Beginner hull polishing setup

Maxpri

Hey guys, looking to cut and polish my hull for the first time myself and just wondering what I need to buy, I read a couple of threads on random orbital vs. rotary polishers and I am just a bit confused, what's the best setup for a first-timer? I will also need pads, a compound and polish if people have suggestions in that regard as well. Thanks!

Disclaimer:I have very little experience with this stuff....

I did a ton of research and learned:
-Random orbit does not have the power for heavy cutting on gel coat. (there are a few random orbits that have forced rotation that would help)
-Rotary has the power and can finish out nice with some practice.

I tried with the rotary and nothing scary happened, results are excellent. Wondering if a random orbit might be better for a light polish/wax when heavy cutting is not required. Makita makes a cordless random orbit with forced rotation option that it tempting.

Last edited:
Variable speed rotary. Weight is important. It's hard on your arms. There is a good thread from a month or so back.

I like the 3m dual sided wool pads they get into tight areas better than the single sided ones.

I have done many boats over the years from full on chalky white gel coat to a quick polish. I haven’t found any magic cream that makes it easy. 3m products seem to work well but I am sure others will do the same.

It’s an exercise in patience, find a procedure that works for your boat then do a little at a time.

For a final wax I have found Collinite to be the best. My last boat I tried 4 different waxes on the hull at the same time. After 6 month in the water Collinite still beaded the water like the day I put it on.

Attachments

• IMG_2874.png
    IMG_2874.png
    276.2 KB · Views: 13
I'm thinking about picking this one up. I have 15 of these batteries at work so it makes sense... right?