Bottom Painting Fibreglass boat first time

I would suggest skipping bottom painting all together. Total pain that once on, you’re committed to pretty much forever. I don’t see the point don’t seem to stop growth.

Are you kidding?
Nope. Pretty sure all the harsh stuff in the paint that used to stop growth has been banned. Better to just haul out a couple times and clean the growth off, as opposed to hauling out cleaning the growth off and maintaining and touching up the bottom paint

Nope. Pretty sure all the harsh stuff in the paint that used to stop growth has been banned. Better to just haul out a couple times and clean the growth off, as opposed to hauling out cleaning the growth off and maintaining and touching up the bottom paint
Huh.. I've been told by people who use ablative paint that it's essentially bare after 4 months in the water

I’m no pro, I moored my boat for over 15 years at burrard civic in false creek which gets heavy growth, bottom paint didn’t seem that great to me. I’d watch the guys with no paint hulls pressure wash off and be done. Meanwhile I’m pressure washing the same and then buying expensive paints and going through that whole process, mind you just touch ups but still extra work and effort

I prepped the bottom, put on two coats of interprotect barrier coat followed by two coats of bottom paint. It worked out great, but was brutal and I wouldn’t do it again. But once the bottom paint is on, touch up and subsequent coats are easy, and I do that myself. The first coat, and preparation required is what I wouldn’t ever do again.

Bottom paint is essential if you moor your boat, which I do. It works very well and keeps the growth off.

interprotect provides a chemical bond being epoxy based but with a well cured older gelcoat there is no harm in adding some mechanical bond by sanding, a light soda blast would be even better but overkill in most cases.