Prop ?

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to boating so I might be asking a stupid question....

I have a 16' Lund SSV with a 30 Merc on it with a mercy spitfire 9.3x11p..... Solo and with 2-3 people to boat runs great (gets on step fast and runs in the 25-29mph range) but the few times I have 4 people or 3 with a lot of gear the motor lags and am only getting 21mph and the motor never sounds like it's reaching a higher rpm.

So I am wondering if I picked up a second prop (to have a spare) in the 9.3x9.5p to run when I am loaded down heavy. Would I get a little more speed out of the prop as it would be spinning faster? Would it get on step faster?

I have tried using one of the spark-plug wire RPM gauges with zero luck getting an accurate reading, so I have no idea what I'm at. Is there a better way to find out my RPM?

Thanks!

What you NEED to do to solve this problem is to measure RPM at WOT with the light load & prop it to hit the high end of the published WOT RPM range. Then see if with a heavy load the same prop at WOT will fall into the published range.

So basically you have 3 options:

Spend money
live with it
buy a second "smaller' prop.

What you NEED to do to solve this problem is to measure RPM at WOT with the light load & prop it to hit the high end of the published WOT RPM range. Then see if with a heavy load the same prop at WOT will fall into the published range.

So basically you have 3 options:

Spend money
live with it
buy a second "smaller' prop.

except I wouldn't recommend living with it if you run loaded quite often and can't reach maximum rpm's. That can be pretty hard on an engine. sounds like that may be what you have been doing every once in awhile. (kinda like going up a steep grade in overdrive...)
Going down a pitch or 2 in prop pitch should help when your loaded up. As ericl mentioned you want to be able to reach max rpm the engine is rated for when loaded. If you can't you can have premature engine failure if left too long.