hrs. on 200-250 hp. outboards

speydog

How many hrs. do you have on your ob? Mine is a 2005-225hp. has 1500 hrs. Would think 2500-3000 should not be unreasonable.

Hey there, I grow grapes for a living, at work we have 33 honda quads 300cc-500cc. We will get at least 3500-4500 hours before we do the top end and we have had some up to 5000 hours. The quads are used pretty hard but they always have there oil change every 200 hours. I know that there not outboards but I think that maintance is the key and if you take care of your outboard it should take care of you for a long time. For me I would plan on 3000-4000 hours but I think there are some guides on here that have more than that on there motors?

An outboard engine works much harder than an engine in any car, motorbike, quad etc. No gears (more lugging) and running constant higher rpms while on plane. There is no public road or trail where you could run any engine at 4000-5000rpms or higher for hrs at a time. I think guys who claim over 3000 hrs on an outboard used for main power are doing a fair amount of low speed trolling with it along with the cruise speeds.

Hey there, I grow grapes for a living, at work we have 33 honda quads 300cc-500cc. We will get at least 3500-4500 hours before we do the top end and we have had some up to 5000 hours. The quads are used pretty hard but they always have there oil change every 200 hours. I know that there not outboards but I think that maintance is the key and if you take care of your outboard it should take care of you for a long time. For me I would plan on 3000-4000 hours but I think there are some guides on here that have more than that on there motors?