What happened to my prawn traps?

Libbs

I am very new to prawning, this being my first season with traps.

A couple weeks back I launched at Fanny Bay, dropped my prawn traps about half way towards Denman Island, and ran out to fish Flora Is and Qualicum for a few hrs. After all the hype and good reports elsewhere, I was excited to pull the traps. Only 5 prawns came to the boat. As I started stacking the gear I noticed a hole in one trap. So I inspected the other, and sure enough, an identical hole in the other. No wonder they were empty!

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1378928218.300155.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1378928241.913728.jpg

One of the traps had two small crabs in it.

I used prawn pellets and tuna cat food 50/50 in the bait jars, and also threw in a salmon belly in each trap. Depth where I dropped the traps was about 215'.

So now I'm wondering what happened...

-I've heard of seals getting into traps, but I imagined way more damage.

-Could the crabs chew through? If so, was I fishing too shallow or was having a salmon belly in there a bad idea... enticing them?

-I wasn't within eyeshot of the traps...vandals? But why would they just cut holes and not steal the traps?

Can anyone enlighten me as to what happened?

Thx!

That could be where the "rot away" cotton cord used to be. Most traps come with some cotton cord that will rot away and open a hole to release the prawns in the case the traps were lost. This is to prevent ghost fishing traps.

Check the rest of the traps and if you don't find another spot with white cotton cord sewn in then I bet that's what was there.

X2-never seen an animal do so little damage-seals or Otters(west coast) usually do a lot of damage if they decide to get in (not often) That leaves poachers-my best guess!!

The rot cord flaps are still nicely tied up with rod cord... These holes were definitely created from what was intact mesh.