To Foam or not...

What if you poured the foam in small layers and let set up. Then you could have layers with hard outer edges where if one layer fails you still maintain the integrity of the other layers? Almost like bubble wrap?

What if you poured the foam in small layers and let set up. Then you could have layers with hard outer edges where if one layer fails you still maintain the integrity of the other layers? Almost like bubble wrap?
I am no expert in foam period, just an observation, first boat I own with foam in it, like I said mine as like 1/2 inch crust over and is hard as hell, the inside is softer a bit but there is no way in hell you can squeeze it with your hand like a wet sponge. I did core small 1-1/2” hole to run a macerator hose, I still have the core sample in my shop, I will dunk it in a pale of water just to see how much water it can absorb, this foam thing is got me stressing out now lol

Sorry to burst your bubble on closed cell foam. You see, it is a chemical reaction that causes the gas, which forms the bubble, that bursts, and forms more bubbles. Hence it is not really closed cell. If you look at Styrofoam SM, or a coffee cup made of foam, that is closed cell.

Both my baby brother and I have rebuilt boats and had to cut out water logged floatation foam. In my case the water logged foam added about 300 pounds over time. The stuff can hold ALOT of water! Trouble is, nothing will seal like a spray foam, and you always need floatation foam by law on boats under 28 foot. You can cut sections of Styrofoam SM, or white foam block, and put them in place and spray foam around to reduce the water logging effect, but either way, this is a problem with a humid environment over time.

Bigger problem on floatation foam where you have wood stringers is the moisture is always on the wood once it soaks. You could change over to composite material for the stringers, but that is expensive!