SVOP - Small Vessel Operator Proficiency

Murry

Hi Everybody

I am considering taking the Small Vessel Operator Proficiency Course. I was wondering how many people on this forum, who are just recreational boat operators, have taken this course?
I'm just a ordinary fisherman and was wondering if this was a good course to take or if it's overkill, and not really recommended for just ordinary fisherman.
I've been captaining my boat, for about 10 years. I for sure do not know everything, but I wouldn't say a total novice either.

Any input or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Everybody

I am considering taking the Small Vessel Operator Proficiency Course. I was wondering how many people on this forum, who are just recreational boat operators, have taken this course?
I'm just a ordinary fisherman and was wondering if this was a good course to take or if it's overkill, and not really recommended for just ordinary fisherman.
I've been captaining my boat, for about 10 years. I for sure do not know everything, but I wouldn't say a total novice either.

Any input or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

I have. Not a guide, just a rec boater.

I took it. It's not mandatory. It's not inexpensive. And I don't think simple for most people to take 3 days off work for it. Take the power squadron instead. SVOP has lot's to do with insurance, liability and due diligence when you have paying guests.

I’ve taken all the courses and think the best by far is the Power Squadron course for the money. I took the other courses for work and they covered a lot of the same material as the Power Squadron courses.

Power squadron courses would be better in my opinion as an average boater. SVOP is really a certification course packed on tight schedule. Designed for people in industry just to get the certified.

The squadron courses go over a span of months depending on your local squadron. I found level 1 and 2 very useful.

The radio and weather courses are good as well.