Pulled over by the cops.

Yesterday at around 11 am. I was running the boat past the bluffs in Sooke on my way to fish Otter point. I then heard a siren from behind me. Look to see and it’s the police. No fisheries officer no Coast guard just two cops in yellow jackets in a nice new rigid hull inflatable. I am a resident of Sooke and have fished its waters regularly for 12 years and this is a first. They signaled me to stop, came along side and asked me for my boat registration and transport Canada certification, as I have a commercial licensed vessel. I produced the registration but had to explain the boat and safety gear all had already passed inspection by Transport Canada. but I did not have my MED3 course passed as of yet and it was the only thing left to do to. I also had to produce my radio operator license and show them the safety gear.

They saw a full case of beer up on the cuddy floor and mentioned that the same rules apply on the water as on the road if they smell it on your person or see open cans or bottles they have the cause needed to request a breathalyzer. The officer had one foot on my gunnel and kept looking around to see in the cuddy I think if he had seen an open beer he would have had enough reason to board us.

It was a short encounter and they did not board my boat. I hated every minute of it, I always feel so bloody guilty even though I haven’t done a thing wrong. I thought what cause did they have to pull me over in the first place??

That's funny two decade ago, my dad and I fished at Coleman Creek Wall in Alberni Inlet. Very calm water with sunshine, no boats around. A double eagle speedboat with canadian flag ran straight to Bilton Point, somehow, turned around, straight towards us. I figured there was a trouble.Oh...RCMP on the boat! They asked us if we had lifejackets, we told them yes. They left.

My dad got something on his jigging rod, caught and released a big bucketmouth lingcod. what a luck!