Prawning in the Inlet - Let's play nice, shall we?

Ghostprof

My son and I have been prawning in Saanich Inlet for a few years now, with varying success -- we have fun and bad catches don't mean we starve, so it's all good. I can't help but noticing this year, though, that people are dropping really close to our traps -- like sometimes so close we have to wait to pull ours because the float is snug up against someone else's hull while they pull theirs. Twice we've had strings dropped over top of our traps (we run single traps) so that we had to haul up three times the weight just to get our trap in the boat (and I'm just hauling hand over hand, no power puller here!).

I understand that it's hard to place traps precisely, and that everyone makes mistakes. It's really crowded out there, it seems, and it's tough to find good spots. But can we please all try not to camp right on top of each other?

I started prawning there about 7 years ago wasn’t to bad had the occasional person a little close but nothing close to being right beside mine in the last few years it’s just been crazy almost not even worth it for me anymore, have had my traps raided by people, caught one guy red handed with my traps in his boat he fled as he saw me racing towards him if I would have had the boat I do now at the time I promise you I would have caught him LOL, I reported him but nothing ever happened of it. The worst was when a commercial boat set right on top of me and a few others traps pinning them down.