Porta Boat Fishing in Becher Bay, can it handle the waves!?

Nick Nooch

Hi guys, just got a couple of questions regarding fishing in Sooke Becher bay. Saw a couple of youtube video of people kayak fishing there, but i have never been so don't know what i am expecting in terms of current/swell/surf. I have a small 12' foot boat with a 6hp 4 stroke that I fish in. My wife and I are planning to Fish around Becher Bay/ Spirit bay area not targeting anything in specific, but thought I ask....if anyone have suggestions that be great. I tried researching online and around the fourms

We are planning to go this week 7/15 and 7/16, I am checking the surf report and it says swell up to 1M and Wind at 20-26KM. Is this consider dangerous?? can the 14 foot handle the waves or should i just not go out on the water and just shore fish (which I am pretty new at as well)

Thank you guys in advance for being helpful, its our 7 years anniversary so we thought we take a two day trip to the island and enjoy fishing like we use to. Unfortunately that is the best setup I can afford at this time, been struggling with life and career since Covid...

or is there affordable guide near the area, who can maybe teach us a thing or two.

Also i am so confused reading DFO Salmon notice on Chinook and Coho restrictions: Chinook no retention until July 31?

Last edited:
Hey there Nick,
With the winds the way they look for the next few days, i'd be very careful heading out any further than Lamb Island/Frasure Island in a 12 foot boat.
On a super calm day you'd have no problem but Beachy Head / Aldridge Point (in Becher Bay) when it's blowing 20 -25 is NOT where you want to be with that setup.
If you got some crab traps, head to Pedder Bay and just toodle around in the inside of that inlet there. Way more protected.

Hey there Nick,
With the winds the way they look for the next few days, i'd be very careful heading out any further than Lamb Island/Frasure Island in a 12 foot boat.