New Fishing Regulation Fines

Think it's great they have finally done something. But you still need someone to enforce them.

Yeah. Fines are good and all, but without enforcement, they don't mean anything. I've been fishing on VI for 15 years and I've been checked a total of... zero times. Granted, I fish a lot of remote areas and when I fish out of a marina, it's usually on a kayak, but still, zero times is crazy. A DFO boat drove right by my friend and I last year (we were in a zodiac) and I was practically yelling at them to come check us, ha. I buy all available licenses ever year (tidal, non-tidal, salmon, steelhead), regardless of whether I fish for all of 'em and I want to show them off, dammit!

Yeah. Fines are good and all, but without enforcement, they don't mean anything. I've been fishing on VI for 15 years and I've been checked a total of... zero times. Granted, I fish a lot of remote areas and when I fish out of a marina, it's usually on a kayak, but still, zero times is crazy. A DFO boat drove right by my friend and I last year (we were in a zodiac) and I was practically yelling at them to come check us, ha. I buy all available licenses ever year (tidal, non-tidal, salmon, steelhead), regardless of whether I fish for all of 'em and I want to show them off, dammit!
Yup,, been going out there for over 30 years the last 20 hard core, and some popular places. Have been checked once at the dock in Sooke maybe 15 years ago, all they did was look in my cooler, didn’t even ask if they were marked or not.