lures vs. bait

chadr

Hey guys, I am new to this site [ I think it's great ] I'm also pretty new to ocean fishing, always been more of a lake and river guy because I never had the proper gear to get out on the big water and do it right. However, now thanks to some friends we are set up to make a few trips a year looking for nice springs. Just wondering about bait [ I've done a lot of reading, and some experimenting with cut plugging ] vs. lures such as spoons, plugs, hootchies, ect. Any info would be helpful, as I said I'm pretty new to this but would like to learn all that I can to make the most of my one or two trips a year [ probably to the WCVI ] Cheers

start with hardware, spoons and hootchies..they are forgiving and cath fish

quote:Originally posted by tomictime

start with hardware, spoons and hootchies..they are forgiving and cath fish

Agreed. Stick with spoons first. Learn hoochies second. Then mess with bait when you're comfortable messing around to get the right roll and have confidence in your gear.

Spoons will put many fish in the box---they are easy to fish. Hoochies require you to tie and tweak to the conditions. Requires more understanding, knowledge and skill. Plugs, reserved for certain times and places only.

Don't be afraid to mix it up.. Bait on one side and gear on the other. You will have to learn at some point.. Keep up with what is working with your area as well. Never hurts, seen some of the most green of horn gear work better than the skilled.-cheers dirty