Letter to Hon. Minister Fraser.

Little Hawk

Dear Honorable Minister Fraser,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for taking a moment from what certainly must be a busy schedule to read this letter.

It has come to my attention that you have been appointed to conduct an audit of the FOC/DFO. To a BC Sportfisherman, this news is both long-overdue and timely.

My name is Terry Anderson. I am a 51/yr old self-employed carpenter, Father of two. I was born in Vancouver and have resided in Victoria since 82'. Living nearly my
entire life on the coast, Sportfishing has always been a big part of my life; a way of life in fact.

I am also a member of the Sportfishing BC.com Saltwater Fishing Forum. On this website there are many West Coast Sportfishmen who post to it and monitor it on a regular basis. A wide range of topics relative to Sportfishing are discussed here and often, heated exchanges develop.

If the Honorable Minister is seeking to gain a sense of the true pulse of the West Coast Sportfishing community, I would encourage you to tap this audience and introduce yourself and learn what you can from the members there. Many have opinions/information/questions about the DFO that you may find useful or interesting, even alarming. Your posting on this forum would undoubtedly be well-received.

This brings me to the reason I am writing you today: the DFO and Net-pen fishfarming on the West Coast of Canada.

As a typical BC Sportfisherman, I am truly passionate about fishing and all things which impact our Wild Pacific Salmon stocks. Concerning net-pen fishfarming and the known negative impacts the Industry has on our Wild Salmon stocks - I am somewhat qualified to speak on the subject.