Hardtop build

halimark

Well just returned from the cold east and am ready to tackle a hardtop build on my 18.6 DE. Am not convinced yet on what way to go? Fiberglass? I have little experience and am hesitant. Or aluminum, done this before on 17.6 DE and worked great, also have a couple sheets "laying around" would be a start, but I do not currently have a brake or welder for aluminum. Any recommendations for Comox valley fabricators/welders or fiberglass guys? I would like to keep as reasonable as possible and not expecting custom shop.

Thanks

HM

Have you thought about fabricating a fibreglass hardtop from scratch. It would be a great project to follow. I'm sure that I'm not the only one to think so. I'm sure that there are a lot of experts that could give you some advise. I have searched to see if a project like this was done before but can't find any here. It shouldn't really be that hard if you have some basic fibreglassing skills. There is a foam core product that you can use to keep the weight down on the roof top. I would suspect you wouldn't be walking on top of the roof. Maybe just placing some crab or prawn traps up there. It would save you a bunch of money and you would have pride knowing you did it yourself. Just have to draw up a design that looks good.