French creek.

G

GetMeAFish

Hi all. New to the forum and new to fishing as well ... LOL!

I've heard about the Qualicum area being good fishing for rookies and French Creek Marina is apparently a good place to launch .. I hope that info is correct.

Anyway ... can anybody offer some insight into the fishing in that area ... do you start fishing as soon as you leave the marina area or are there specific locations that you head to from there?

What depths are you best to troll at?

And finally ... when is the best time of year for rookies to try that area out?

Had the boat for a couple years and have had the fishing gear since last summer but damned if I can catch a salmon around Porlier(closer to home) ... no problem with Ling, kelp or bottom hooking up though ... thought a trip into rookie friendly waters would be better for the learning curve and Qualicum was suggested to me.

I'm a little aprehensive about going West coast ... at least until I have some experience on getting one into the boat ... or better ... on the dang line.

Been using a green glowing flasher and different hoochies ... no luck ... gonna get some of those Coyote spoons ... sounds like some think they are the bomb ... if that means 'fish on' ... I'll be one happy novice.

I must tell you that I suck so bad at fishing ... that when I took up some advice to go to Campbel River and fish just out front of the big rock ... it would be surefire 'fish on' ... I went up one week after the person giving the advice was out there and catching fish ... needless to say ... I caught about 8 dog fish and not a single flipp'n salmon ... either I am some kind of salmon repellant or maybe I'm just not up to speed on the best practices and timing of day to catch one.

I look to your experience for a helping hand ... is Qualicum rookie friendly ... or is it as rookie friendly as CR ... meaning ... I'll probably suck at catching a salmon there to ..LOL!