Converting an inboard to an outboard

Fisher_dude

Crew Member
My dad and i got a hold of a 17ft Peterbourogh with a 3.8omc. did a ton of work to it, and then the leg blew up. Figures. The boat itself is in great shape, and without dropping a ton of money into getting the leg fixed, we are throwing around the idea of yanking the motor, pulling the leg, filling and fibreglassing the leg hole up and mounting a 115hp merc on the back with a jack plate. We figure all of this can be done for under a grand. The local guy here quoted us in the ballpark of 2500-3000 for a new leg rebuild and shift cable. The up side is now we have an outboard instead of an inboard. The downside, well, that all depends on how you look at it. Gives us a winter project to do but it could be a lot of work.

We are trying to part the boat out but its not going so well, so we figured what the hell. I am a fabricator by trade so all the little nick-nacks that need to be done, i can do at my shop. Purchase a 10" off set jackplate for 289 bucks. Some fibreglass. Some reinforcements. Take out the doghouse and back seats. Redo the floor, keep the old bilge pump and just make a fish cooler out of the hole that was there. Lots of extra storage. Lots of room to fight fish. Seems like a great idea. Almost to good of an idea. And thats why im asking you for any input that you could give me.

Thanks
Matt

I think you got the right idea. I never liked small boats with I/O. Just simply not enough room to accommodate a motor inside. But if I was you I'd check out a properly designed pod for your boat. Just hanging something pretty heavy way off your stern on a small boat like that will have significant implications on the boat's balance, centre of gravity and ultimately handling. A designed pod with adequately added floatation seems advisable.