Aluminum boat suggestions

BertG

Hi all,

I'm new to this and this is my first post. I saw another post about "recommendation to buy a aluminum boat" and didn't want to step over what he was asking.

I'm in the market for a used aluminum boat but due to limited storage space I'm leaning toward 16 or 17 ft aluminum. The boat will be used mainly for a quick day trip fishing, crabbing and prawning around Vancouver/sandhead area.

- pros and cons between center consoles vs side consoles (with full windscreen and soft top)
- quality between custom build vs brand like silver streak, lifetimer and hewescraft

I'm in no rush of getting one and have seen a few (well maintained) 16ft Hewescraft that came up and sold for mid 20K in the last few months (I didn't jump on it quick enough). With the covid pricing priced in for the last few years have you guys seen prices coming down at all? and/or will it come down??

Any suggestions/recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the forum. I've learned a ton from others way more experienced than me here. Never had a center console but things I liked about our smaller soft top was related to comfort;
- getting out of the sun and wind
- using a little buddy heater for the colder months and dropping the back curtain down, while leaving the middle part open for a quick rod grab. It has to be pretty calm though as the safety switch kicks in and shuts the heater off when you hit a wave.
- I've found looking at the same size boats of different brands is necessary. It depends on what you want in the boat. ie: head room, options, design, layout, etc. I liked that our 18' Hewescraft had a larger fishing deck than the same size & year Kingfisher. The Kingfisher had "prettier" welds and a few other small options but that wasn't important to me.
Good luck on your hunt!

Welcome, who will you be going out fishing with? I had an 18 foot hewescraft searunner and my dad had a 16 foot starcraft.