1977 Hourston 18.2

Oncor

I found a 1977 Hourston one owner that looks very good and was used in lakes in southeastern BC so it never saw the ocean.

There is some minor hydrolysis on the hull and need to refinish and repair scratches on the keel or simply paint. I have been recommended both but defer to the broader audience here.

I’m thinking at least a new or two new bilge pumps. The battery is new.
Also it will need a new trolling motor and it remains to be IMG_1098.jpegseen by an inspector if the main motor still has life on it. Owner swears it’s in running shape (?)

My goal is to see if I can get it back on the water without a complete restoration albeit the need for at least a new trolling motor and some basic electronics.

I’m new to ownership so seeing what a more lean approach on spend may be if possible.

I’ll work on some better photos.

Let me know your thoughts, good, bad or ugly.

Attachments

• IMG_1099.jpeg
    IMG_1099.jpeg
    160.3 KB · Views: 131
  • IMG_1100.jpeg
    IMG_1100.jpeg
    108.1 KB · Views: 138
  • IMG_1101.jpeg
    IMG_1101.jpeg
    268.6 KB · Views: 138
I've owned 3 hourstons and loved them all. Cosmetics on the outside is the easy stuff. At 46 years even a one owner, the water seems to always find a way into the below floor stringers and certainly transom.
The motors may run but don't expect a long life from either as they are vintage. Hopefully price is in line with possible work required.

That makes sense, Hay.

$1000 paid with fingers crossed that I don’t have to replace a transom or stringers. I’ll take out the floor and see what we have.

I agree on the power. I’m ready to scrap the motor and for sure the kicker. I’d invest in new power or newer “lightly used” 4 stroke.

If I have to tear it apart and rebuild stringers and transom, that’s gonna be for the next lucky guy. Too much of a commitment on time for me, I’m afraid.

Only one way to find out, I guess