Mercury Motor Oil (Quicksilver) Is it worth it?

islanderguy

Since I'm not a marine mechanic, I was wondering if anyone could tell me if there's any real difference between the marine 10W30 motor oil by Mercury was any different than a brand name oil like Quakerstate or Castrol?

At about $8 / liter for the Mercury brand I was hoping that I was getting something more than just a Mercury label on a Canadian Tire container of oil.

Thanks in advance.

That's a good question. I have been running mercury 2 stroke motors for the last 6 years, I also wanted to know if there was any difference between the Can tire brand "Nautelus" or however it's spelled, and the Mercury brand. I went to my mechanic and asked him, he quickly showed me a motor that had been running the cheaper stuff. The pistons show signs of sludge and burned looking oil all the way down the sides of the pistons that over time will $#%@ up the rings as they go up and down and eventually cause blow by and low compression. Well then it's rebuild time. He showed me another motor running the good stuff, and well it looked great. In one season of running the cheap stuff, if you run your motor hard you can lower the compression by up to 15 lbs per cylinder. Cheaper stuff can't take the heat. My 2cents.

I read your post wrong. Your running a 4 stroke. I'd call a marine mechanic on that one. Preferabley one that works from home and is not biased to One brand or another.