Crabbing and Prawing Fall and Winter 2009

Sculpin

Well the time is coming folks. Let's post up info and reports of our bottom dewellers for folks to read and learn. Spot's tactics etc. I'll be posting up reports as the weeks move on etc.

"I'm not talkin bout pleasure boatin or day sailin......I'm talkin bout workin for a livin"- Captain Quint

Good thread Sculpin, I've been crabbing out at Cheanuh marina for quite a few years and I've found that no matter where I put down my trap all I ever get now is female crabs. Use to get a good mix of rock and dungy's both male and female but now its all females. I've gone out with a few friends and we put down a total of three traps and let them soak for about 8 hours when we pulled them we all had over 20 females in each trap and not one male between the 3 of us. Is Cheanuh washed up when it comes to crabbing? We've moved around and have tried different spots around Cheanuh but we always get the same results..... all females. Got to find a new spot to drop the traps.... any ideas??? Steve.

And remember....Keep your tip up!!!

It's all females and undersize over in Oakbay now as well...
The males will come though, usually mid October they show up again.

Thanks RS, I didn't know the males show up again. Thats great.... I guess I won't have to find a new spot after all.

Anyone on here Prawning out Saanich inlet way? I was out looking for chum's yesterday throughout Satellite channel and Saanich inlet and noticed a S--t pile of Prawn buoys ....just curious how they were making out?

Prawning was good in the inlet on Sunday. Very Good.
Just make sure you remember to toss the egg carrying ones back so that we can keep the stocks up.

Anyone been prawning or crabbing in Baynes Sound (Denman Island) area recently? Inherited some traps and waiting for a free day with decent weather...

The worst day fishing is better than the best day working...