Water in Fuel Filter

Baxter

Changed my gas filter/separator for the first time. Last change was a year ago by previous owner.

Some water in filter, and I realize this is probably somewhat normal, filter is doing its job. About a tablespoon at most. (Although us guys tend to over-estimate sizes of things, so probably really 1/4 tablespoon ;) )

Is this a normal amount? I’ve put a total of about 40-50 hours on this filter. Previous owner put 9 hours on the main but who knows the total as he took the original kicker with him. So total use is unknown but not likely less than 60 or so.

(Note: I am quite confident that this is perfectly normal, especially after the winter where condensation can cause moisture etc. I am not really concerned at all, but because this is my first time ever doing this I just want to be certain. Over the years I have learned not to assume things, especially where safety may be concerned)

3F399DD1-1D2D-4ED9-AC12-9DCA1A92DA6F.jpeg

Last edited:
I run portable tanks that sit out in the open, so I am not surprised to see a bit of water in the bottom of my water separating filters. I have not seen water that orange colour before though. My separators do not have a see through bowl,, (considering an upgrade though) so they get changed yearly or about every 100 hours. Looks like you run marked fuel so alcohol should not be a problem, unless that is not marked and is fuel preservative. Remember that the fuel pickup is not at the very bottom of the tank, so you may have more water then you think. Have a look at both your filler and vent hoses to see if there might be a possibility of water getting in from there. I am using a water separating funnel when I fill my tanks and have found a little wafer in the bottom of the funnel at times.

I have not seen water that orange colour before though.

Looks like you run marked fuel so alcohol should not be a problem, unless that is not marked and is fuel preservative.