Time to smoke some Salmon

Dennis.t

Hey guys. Im getting ready to smoke up some sockeye salmon. Been a few yrs since I have smoked salmon and I have forgotten a few things. Lol. I have a Big Chief smoker. First batch will be 4 adult size sockeyes. Am planning to use a 1/2 cup pickling salt, 1/2 cup brown sugar to 6 cups water brine mixture. Then into the smoker over a 3 pan fulls of alder chips for about 6-8 hrs depending on finished texture. we like a moist finished product. How long should I brine the fishies up? and how long do I need to allow them to air-dry? Thanx fellas, and any other suggestions regarding tweaking the brine brine mixture is appreciated. Cheers

That doesn't seem like enough sugar or salt to me. (i'm not an expert by a long shot though...) myself, if using 6 cups of water, i'd prob go with 3/4 to 1 cup salt and 2 cups brown sugar.... stir pieces a few times during the time they are in the fridge...
I usually brine for 24 hrs... prob more than most. and then let set to dry till the outside develops almost a "tacky skin" that is dry to the touch... prob about 4 or 5 hrs in the fridge. i usually pat dry with paper towels a couple times also during this time to try to get rid of some of the moisture...
just before putting in the smoker i also sometimes baste on a 50/50 mix of maple syrup, honey... sometimes a squirt of lemon in that also. and then keep the left over mixture to rebaste on the pieces of finished smoked salmon just before vac packing...
3 pans alder chips sounds about right. I'd soak the chips a bit before putting them in the smoker. 6-8 hrs prob be ok... usually just check it at that time, then adjust time accordingly. mine usually takes a bit longer. but sockeye being thinner fillets, might be ok.
I think everyone kinda has there own recipe and method... lots of info on this subject. might give you a couple ideas...

Dennis