Time to life a motor up a notch?

DuroBoat

Just curious here.. how long does it take to move a Yamaha f300 up one bolt hole on a pod? My dealer said 3 hrs which seems a long time for a rigged shop but I’ve never done it before.. at cruise my cavitation plate is still 1-2” below the water.

Maybe it’s three guys for one hour. One guy lifting while two guide it. 1 hour per guy sounds very reasonable.

I put my motor on by myself but that’s not what a shop is gonna do.

Sorry maybe you’re not talking about 3 hours of labour and maybe you’re talking 3 hours wait time for you. I imagine that would be them playing it safe if they have to adjust things and move a bunch of stuff around the shop to make room for you

hook a chain from the lifting eye on the top of the motor to a hoist. Pull the top two bracket bolts. Loosen the bottom two bolts. Hoist 3/4”. Reinstall bolts and tighten. I’ve done it myself in less than an hour. Spent most of that time looking for a bolt for the chain to lifting eye connection.

Thanks guys +/- $500 seemed a bit much to move an engine up one hole… I’ll phone around
I have been thinking about doing the same thing myself. My problem is my motor does not have a lifting eye and the part is around $200 bucks to attach to the flywheel (2022 Mercury 90). It seems like a simple thing to do myself in my carport I just don’t want to spend $200 bucks for a tool I will probably only use once.

You can use straps too configure it in a way thats what we used. maybe a 1 hour job just make sure you sika the bottom holes.

It took me less than an hour by myself to install my motor and I’ve never done it before. But I imagine that with a shop, they will quote you the rate that covers their butts in case something goes wrong.

Attachments

• IMG_4738.jpeg
    IMG_4738.jpeg
    179 KB · Views: 25