suzuki df-140 alarms advice?

Arjento

Hi Guys,

Odd thing happened last night to me, warmed the motor up at the docks while I setup fishing gear (ten min or so), headed out in the no wake zone, after passing the break wall opened it up a bit (3000rpm) heading for about maybe 3 minutes and my alarms started going off, first it was beeps (can't recall the pattern), then the engine temp alarm light lit up and check engine light, motor didn't throttle down because I was below 3000rpm, anyhow switched to the kicker motor it was fine, big motor turned it off tilted it up to see what was going on I think there was a piece of seaweed but can't be certain. Anyhow that's cleared so I figured time to turn it on see if I'm still getting alarms, and I did this time the engine temp gone, but the check engine flashes was 3 followed by 2 flashes. Called up the service shop they say it's a map sensor (like I know what that is I'm not a mechanic) They say it's not catastrophic and I can turn the motor back on to get back in should be okay. After three hours of fishing on the kicker it was time to call it a night and head in, picked up gear turned on the big motor and no alarms no lights flashing at all, when I got into the dock I tied off and let it idle to see if it would overheat (10 min or so plus the 10 minutes prior motoring in) no alarms. Touched the pee hole water and it was warm not piping hot but warm. Any suggestions? I have an appointment to the service shop next week for peace of mind but just want to get as much ideas as possible before it goes in to compare.

Thanks for the advice in advance ARJ