Schooner Cove Launch Ramp

Tiki35

When I was out fishing yesterday, I returned to my truck and there was a flyer on the windshield explaining that Schooner intends to close the boat ramp and tidal grid and information necessary for me to contact my MLA as this is public land that is leased. As a Fairwinds resident, I of course was aware of this and have written many letters to the developer explaining what a bad idea this is. At this point, it appears the closure is inevitable as they are jumping through all the necessary hoops, holding meetings, next comes the public hearing and then the final plans next spring. So basically we want to hear from the community, we don't care what you have to say, and we are going to do it our way regardless.

For those not familiar with the situation, they are planning to put a 10,000 pound jib crane instead of a boat launch. This is useless on so many levels. For starters, it would take a minimum of 20 minutes each time to launch and retrieve. It also requires a crane operator which would finish his/her shift at 6pm. Well since it gets dark at 10 pm during the summer, how useless is that? What about liability issues for damage they could do? A jib crane uses straps that go under the hull. Well I have a bunk trailer so that leaves me out. Under the new plan there is absolutely no parking for boat trailers either. This whole thing is a shame as I specifically bought a house in Fairwinds due to that boat launch.

This has NOT gone away... just got this:

Hi ,

I’m from the PQF&G [ Parksville Fish & Game], current Secretary.

The Club last week got a head’s up that Fairwinds / Nanoose is holding an open house info session this Wednesday on June 26th 4:00-8:00 pm at the Golf Club, concerning an application to remove the Public Boat Ramp. Apparently it doesn’t fit in with their development scheme.Details are at the open house.