Relocating to the coast, thoughts/advice?

NDT

We have been going to the island every year for a few weeks every summer, but never been to the north coast. We have decided to move to the coast since we enjoy the outdoor recreation so much. Kinda planning 12-18 months to find a suitable location and stable employment. I'm a heavy duty desiel mechanic and my wife stays home with the kids(3) until next fall.

Never considered moving to the north coast until a few days ago, always figured on Campbell River area. My wife was asking about kitimat as housing is more affordable. I starting looking at employment options up there. Looked at terrace, prince Rupert and kitimat.

It seems there is a lot of outdoors activities up there year around.

Just wondering the pros/cons to the north coast vs the island(Nanaimo & north).

I figure the fishing will be good up there. Can anyone comment on hunting opportunities?

Any thoughts or comments would be much appreciated,

Mat

I think the fishing and housing costs would be better on the North coast.
The weather however is much better on the Island ,
(unless you are really into winter sports)

South coast is about the weather with more days of reasonably calm ocean water compared to the North Coast as well as the North Island.

Prince Rupert has the fewest hours of sunshine in Western Canada and Terrace and Kitimat have real winter

I think the fishing and housing costs would be better on the North coast.
The weather however is much better on the Island ,
(unless you are really into winter sports)

Should have mentioned that I'm a diehard mountain sledder as well.

South coast is about the weather with more days of reasonably calm ocean water compared to the North Coast as well as the North Island.

Prince Rupert has the fewest hours of sunshine in Western Canada and Terrace and Kitimat have real winter