Island Deer Rifle

Steelhead S2

Hi all,

I am just brand new to hunting... and very enthusiastic. I think I'm decided on a deer rifle to buy. Probably bad move to buy it mid season, but I don't want to miss this season either.

After much research and lots of conversations I have pretty much decided on a weatherby vanguard series 2, 30-06. Fitted with a redfield scope. I am looking for something that won't break the bank, but also something that I won't want to replace right away.
I am going with a blued barrel because it's cheaper and it's available.

Anyone here have any experience with these firearms? Any other good suggestions? Any inexpensive used ones in good condition and of good quality?

Thank, I'm sure soem of oyu will provide very helpful insights.

I'm not a seasoned hunter by any means but I think that's a great choice in caliber bbecause its good for island deer as well as larger game if you decide to go after moose, elk etc. In the future.

30-06 is a great rifle i have owned one since I was 15 years old it my go to gun love it I have the bushnell elite scope on it and must admit a very good scope for the money.
That gun has taken many a deer and many moose with it a great all around weapon.
good choice

Sounds like a great choice for the reasons already posted. Odd 6........jack of all trades. Good luck this season:).

Odd 6........jack of all trades. Good luck this season:).

BINGO! Probably the most versatile chambering out there, there are more loading recipes and bullet types/sizes for the 30-06 than any other. One long-standing saying (which I believe to be true) is that if a North American hunter was faced with having but one rifle, his choice should be the 30-06 for that very reason. Good to Go for everything from Antelope and the smaller Island Deer to Moose & Elk.