Fishing south end of Cowichan Lake

Sea Ranger

Hi to everyone.... I have been fishing up at Cowichan lake in November for the last 6 years and every year has been good fishing around Shaw and Nixon etc.... However this year I found out that we will be staying at the south end of the lake at Lakeview Campground. My question is what areas should I be fishing down at the south end? Was going to be fishing 3 to 4 inch plugs at about 12 to 20 feet on the downriggers looking for Cutties. If anyone has some ideas or hot spots I could try that they think might be better, Please let me know. Thanks Steve.

SB?

You'll find that pretty much everywhere on the lake is fished the same to a certain extent. I tend to fish up to 80' with the same 4-6" plugs and do well. Fish the dropoffs, flats ,rivermouths, etc.There are fish to be found at most locations. Some of my best spots are out in the middle of nowhere land. Almost like Hali fishing. I'll find a pinnacle and work it all day and continually hit fish.

If you have fished it for six years and done well than you'll have no problems at the south end.

ill be heading up in a few weeks to hit the south part of the lake,
i was up at the same time last year and hit a few using the d/rigers at 40 odd feet and a few just trailing a plug on the surface, i was at the west shore fishing shop last weeek picking up new plugs an i seen the artificial fish(like the ones for salmon) teaser head an all, but i didnt pick them up. mabe i will
has anyone had any luck with these baitrix fish??

iscootblue.png

Yeah, there are a few items that work wonders off the downriggers.
......as an alternative to the plugs that is.

Hey Baz.... are you in the King Cutthroat Derby on Nov 7,8 and 9th? Thats when I'll be up there. Let me know if you will be there then too. Thanks...... Steve.

really!!
are you feeling the need to throw me a bone>??
apart from plugs?

an fishinfool ill be up on the 15th for a yearly friends derby,