Fishing for flatfish off the dock

Oregon

Hello everyone. I am a fishing newbie and still learning the basics of this great hobby. I recently moved to the Sunshine Coast and now live right across the street from the ocean! I've been using my fortunate location to my advantage and have been pulling my crab trap every day at the dock near my house. The other day I saw a gentleman on the dock who was reeling in flatfish from the dock using a smaller pole. I believe they were a small flounder of sorts but he didn't speak a lick of English so I couldn't ask him about the fish or how to catch them. I read a couple posts about fishing for flatfish but the descriptions and language didn't click since I'm such a newb. I have a small trout pole with a spinning reel that was about the size that the fisherman was using. I wanted suggestions on bait and tackle. Do I just attach a weight and leader? What type of weight? How long a leader? What type of hook? The depth is about 20-25 feet and the bottom is sandy. Any recommendations on what test of line to use? Most of the info I found seemed to relate to fishing from boats at deeper depths. I appreciate your help and look forward to hearing from you. God bless. :)

Those fish are likely "sole". I think you can catch 8/day. Almost any small hook with a small piece of bait should catch them. You could cast out and let your line sit with a little bait or cast and retrieve a small lead head jig with or without a small piece of bait such as a small strip of anchovy, bacon, or they love a bit of clam :D. If you use 5 to 10lb test line and just a small drop or twist sinker with a small hook or two on a piece of bait you will have some fun. Just make sure to take a small cooler with ice to put the sole in because their flesh goes all mushy if they are not put on ice immediately after catching them. Pan fry or microwave them for a few minutes and you have a tasty snack.