First time boat hunter

Noob

Hi all, I’m new to boat hunting with a low budget ($15,000), curious to get some insight on what route to take.

The main purpose will be taking the family out and do some crabbing and fishing around the inlet (and hope to go further once I get more experienced). I’ve been doing some research but not sure I’m crazy for going down these routes.

1) new plastic boats (polycraft and whaly 500) - seems to be in line with the budget and I believe they’re safe enough for the inlet. Light weight and durable. I suppose good for beginner

2) new or used aluminum boats (Lund or Lowe)- more common on the west coast it seems. Light weight as well and seems to be a good beginner boat. However I believe the boat may not be as stable as plastic boats but comments are welcome.

3) used fibre glass. Haven’t done too much research on this but I’m not super handy so afraid to buy something that requires lot of work.
Any recommendation and feedback are welcome but I’m currently leaning towards plastic (which most likely means I have to get this shipped from the east) am I crazy?!

thank you in advance

I’ve never seen a plastic boat on the Chuck, except for the one @Gham saved the guy from a couple of months back. (Capsized)

boat prices are nuts right now so $15k doesn’t get you even close to what it did pre covid money.

You can possibly jump on a double eagle or hourston if it comes up, but it will have a lineup within minutes of being posted.

The 14-16’ Lund is probably your best bet at this point and pick the nicest days to go out. Lots of those who use them swear by them!

good luck with the hunt!

A 17 ft whaler would work just fine. You should be able to get one for your budget. And also can be pushed by a motor as small as a 50 hp which makes for cheap boating.