Diesel Repairs " Does this sound right?"

Peterman

So Im not a great mechanic for starters... Ive got 2000 Dodge Ram 2500 2wd I use for towing the boat and landscaping.. It just turned 200,000km,
I want to stay on top of the maintenance so Im not hit with a large bill down the road... I ask around and its recommended I take it to Harbour City Diesel.. So, I book an appointment with them to go over the truck and recommend what should be done in order to keep it running well..

They test drive, run a scan and it shows a weak fuel pump, that supplies the injector pump... Ok, I say lets replace it... $350 plus labour 1 hrs, plus a new fuel filter while im there... Bill is roughly $600.. ouch !! but whatever...

They pop it in, go to restart the truck..... Now the truck is dead and wont start... "Lovely" They scan it again and check the injectors and tell me it needs a new Injector Pump now... WTF... $1700 for a remanufactured one, plus 4 hrs labour..

Now Im stuck, truck is broken down in their shop and I'm looking at a $3,000 bill, plus I can't landscape t'il its fixed.. the better part of a week..

Bring them a running truck for a maintenance check over and BAMM ! $3000 later it seems no different..

Im wondering if I got totally hosed... or if its really worth owning a diesel truck these days..

Anyways, if anyone knows a good diesel mechanic/shop it would be greatly appreciated..
Cheers,

I too have a diesel truck but I know nothing about them other than how to drive it and fill it up. I'm not suggesting you got hosed, but it seems odd that their first scan didn't show the major repair. I know a diesel mechanic that worked at Wheatons for years but left and is now working at a small private shop. He did all the work on my truck prior to him leaving. I am still under warranty so still going to Wheatons. If you want his name PM me. Good luck.

Yeah something is Fishy !!!

Be great if you PM me his number.. Hopefully its just regular maintenance for awhile...

Thanks