Did I just invent a new super strong knot?

TheBigGuy

I was playing around today to come up with a new knot with the tag end coming out from the bottom end of the knot. I usually use the San Diego Jam knot as it is extremely strong and easy to tie. The San Diego Jam knot is a great knot, but I don't like that the tag end comes out at the top. The tag end pointing upwards can catch weeds easily, and it puts the hook off kilter if rigging a hoochy with beads.

I was looking for something stronger than an improved clinch knot that has the tag end coming out the bottom. The trilene knot has the tag coming out the bottom, but it's only marginally stronger than the improved clinch knot. So I started playing around combining the Trilene knot with the improved clinch knot, and I was shocked to find the knot I came up with would break the San Diego Jam Knot.

The SDJK tests out as one of the strongest knots around, so I was kind of stunned it broke first. I used 25 lb line tied to two similar hooks or swivels and was doing a simple unscientific pull test to see which knot would break first.

I next tested this new knot against the Uni, Palomar, and the Trilene knots. As those are some of the most widely used and respected knots around. In my simple break tests the new knot bested all the others when tying a fresh knot. It even broke the other knots when I hadn't retied it and had stressed it with several prior break tests.

This kind of blew my mind as this new knot was kicking all the best knots buts in a simple break off contest. Maybe this knot I came up with has been around for awhile and I just haven't noticed it anywhere online. Please test it out and let me know what you think. If you've seen this knot before please post the name it has. If it hasn't been developed by anyone else I guess I've got dibs on naming it.