Codfish

C

CanYouFeelIt

I am living in Victoria now and I would like to get some codfish. Is it possible to get any from shore? Any suggestions on where? I have very little experience with saltwater fishing so any suggestions passed on about tides, currents etc would be great. No matter how simple it may seem please tell me as it may be helpful.

Hi,

I dont live in Victoria and Ive never fished there neither. I think it may be difficult to get cod from shore though because the only cod Ive ever caught in the west coast (im from the other side of the country) was in 250+ feet of water. I caught 3 of them here on the westcoast and they were all caught on herring. They ate the whole damn thing...They were pretty small too. Maybe 2 or 3 pounds, not like out in New England were we would catch them up to like 40lbs.

I used to fish from shore in NY and I used to just throw a little chunk of bait out to catch fish. So when I tried it here, I kept catching greelings and flounders. No cod though.

I dont know if any of this info is useful but from your post I got the impression you wanted to get any sort of info.

A lot of people here in BC incorrectly call rockfish "rock cod" or even just cod. We have a few different kinds of rockfish. If you are referring to rockfish then yes it's possible to catch them from shore although they would likely be small. And in most areas of the coast around here the limit is only 1 rockfish per day.

my bad. yeah, I was talking about 'cod', not 'rockfish'.

quote:Originally posted by jonz

A lot of people here in BC incorrectly call rockfish "rock cod" or even just cod.

No I am referring to pacific codfish. I haven't had too much trouble catching rockfish and greenling.

quote:Originally posted by ashtonspoutine

I caught 3 of them here on the westcoast and they were all caught on herring. They ate the whole damn thing...They were pretty small too. Maybe 2 or 3 pounds, not like out in New England were we would catch them up to like 40lbs.