bass getaways

N

nuck

I am in BC,, the lower mainland, and am looking for a good weekend getaway with lots of fishing involved. Every lodge I have come accross is geared for salmon, trout etc, no luck finding anything for bass. Hoping someone has been to one, or can recommend one.

A couple good place to stay on St Mary Lake are Cedar Beach, Lakeside Gardens Resort and Green Acres all have skiffs for rent and good fishing right in front well early in the year all kinds of places are good fishing.

More questions just ask.

Thank you so much! It is my boyfriends 40th this month, and I am trying to surprise him with a getaway with as much fishing as possible. I have no experience bass fishing, and I don't want to get his suspisions up by asking him too many questions.

Maybe you should go and fish someplace where bass are native and weren't introduced illegally. Or consider fishing for trout or salmon, our native species.

I have fished for salmon, that is all the fishing I have ever done for years. He is a 'catch and release' guy and very much aware of all the controversy over illegal introduction of bass. That is why I was posting on here, to get as many opinions as possible. Thanks for taking the time to reply, as I said I have no experiance with bass fishing so any and all comments are appreciated. I hope to become more aware as I research the subject.

First off all you need is a trout spinning rod combo 6 or 7 feet long with 8# test.

The most fun is top water fishing you can buy some of that gear @ 3 Vets in Vancouver Harvey the Manager of that Dept is over there now a bit too cold to camp for me but he always does well.

Small dark lures retrieved relatively quickly will do the deed no need to buy a lot of different Crankbaits.

The best topwater lure, and topwater is the most fun of all, is the Rapala Skitterpop, expensive and there are some decent looking imitations around now cheaper go for darker colours and one brightly coloured one you never know.