Trolling speed question?

H

HSM542

A question for the experts out there, when trolling near the bottom hoping to get both hali's and salmon what speed works for a better chance to get both, speed as quick as usually used for salmon, or slowing down a bit for the halibut? I've never tried this before as I've often wondered what would work the best! P.S. gear such as spoons and hootchies are being used with flashers.

No expert here, but the halis suposedly are bycatch when trolling for salmon. So I'd do my salmon setup just troll near the bottom 10ft or so.
cheers

gonefishingsign.gif

Hi.

I'm no expert at trolling up halibut, but I'd think trolling bait behind a flasher might be a better bet. Whole herring in a teaser head would seem to be a natural choice for a shot at both. If you're using hoochies they work well a various speeds. Change up your colors and speeds until you find a combination that works. Just make sure you mark what speed you are going when you have a hit. It also might be worth trying some magnum hoochies in your favorite colors. They are a little larger(about 6"), and might work better on Halibut.Like I said, not an expet, just some suggestions.

TheBigGuy

Hi.

I'm no expert at trolling up halibut, but I'd think trolling bait behind a flasher might be a better bet. Whole herring in a teaser head would seem to be a natural choice for a shot at both. If you're using hoochies they work well a various speeds. Change up your colors and speeds until you find a combination that works. Just make sure you mark what speed you are going when you have a hit. It also might be worth trying some magnum hoochies in your favorite colors. They are a little larger(about 6"), and might work better on Halibut.Like I said, not an expet, just some suggestions.

TheBigGuy

A couple of buddies of mine have had lots of success trolling hootchies and other hardware out of Bamfield, right on the bottom for both Halis and salmon...regular trolling speed.

Getbent